No, usually it means their setting block everybody except their circle.
No. I have my privacy setting so that only people in my circle can send me a PM, unless I contact the person outside my circle first.
I did it in self defense, but I resent the need.
Not necessarily.....they are just blocking people from seeing certain stuff on their profile or their pictures. Or if they flag it so that minors can read their mature audience stories and etc.