An outfield fly is pretty straight forward. You hit the ball to the air in the outfield, it is caught, it is an out. Perhaps you are thinking of the infield fly rule? If so...<br />
<br />
Since the purpose is to prevent double plays, the rule applies only when there are fewer than two outs, and there is a force play at third ba<x>se (i.e., there are runners at first and second ba<x>se, or the ba<x>ses are loaded).[1] In these situations, if a fly ball is in fair play, and in the umpire's judgment it is catchable by an infielder with ordinary effort, the umpire shall call "infield fly", and the batter will be out[2] regardless of whether the ball is actually caught in flight. Umpires typically raise one arm straight up to signal to everyone that the rule is in effect.<br />
<br />
If "infield fly" is called and the fly ball is caught, it is treated exactly as an ordinary fly ball; the batter is out, there is no force, and the runners must tag up. On the other hand, if "infield fly" is called and the ball lands fair without being caught, the batter is still out, and there is no force, but the runners are not required to tag up. In either case, the ball is live, and the runners may advance at the risk of being doubled-off if the ball is caught.

Best Answer

Related Questions