So, when we heard that some members were confused about the ‘discreet’ and ‘public’ options currently available, we set out to simplify the privacy setting, to make them easier to understand.
**For one we’re getting rid of the search by email feature which was an option available to members who opted for public profiles. We know that some of you want your friends and family to find you on EP but we suggest sending them an invitation to the site, instead. To protect our members and the sensitive topics they share NO ONE will be able to search for you by email regardless of your account settings.
Come February, 1st there will be two account setting options available: Standard and ‘EP Only’
[Note: You will not find these options under account settings, just yet, but if you set your account to 'discreet' the option available now your account will automatically be converted to 'EP Only' come February 1st. All other accounts will become standard accounts]
Regardless of whether you have a Standard or 'EP Only' account, logged in members see the same detailed information on your profile, what distinguishes these two types of accounts is the amount of information displayed on your profile for people who are browsing the site and aren't logged in.
When an account is set to ‘EP only’ it means that only EP members can see the content on your profile. People who are NOT logged into EP (though they can see basic information on your profile) CAN'T see a list of your stories, groups or any of your photos (avatar and photo albums)
On the other hand, when you have a ‘Standard’ account people not logged into EP, browsing the site can see your profile, though they still need to be EP members in order to message you or add you to their circle. This way, when someone reads your story and finds it interesting, they can view your profile and be led to other great stories you have written, making it easier for people to connect and find value in Experience Project.
Since privacy is an important topic, and especially important for Experience Project, we want to give everyone time to change their privacy settings before we make this change. You have until February 1st, 2013 to log into EP, go to your account settings, and set your privacy settings to 'EP only' if you choose. By default your account will already be EP only if your profile was set to discreet. Now is a good time to uncheck or check that option.
We hope you like these changes, and we hope that this makes it easier for users to continue to make positive connections on EP while being confident that their privacy is secure.